>Top Ten Tuesday – Books Recommended

>

This week its Top Ten Books Recommended at The Broke and the Bookish

Here are mine:

1) Pride and Prejudice – First read this book after the BBC mini-series came out and I loved it.  When I hadn’t read it for over a decade, I fell in love with it again.  Now that I am reading it once again, I am finally admiring Austen’s genius.

2) Jane Eyre – Read this book when I was in grade 8 and its one that I have loved and revisited since.  And especially in my adult years, I have really come admire the book.

3) East of Eden – Read this book back when Oprah used this as one of her book selections a number of years ago and really enjoyed it.  Read it again a few years later and really caught the nuances of the book and really appreciated its grandeur.

4) The Robber Bride – My first truly adult novel that I read when I was 15.  This book allowed me to journey into a world that I had previously avoided and when I first read this book, I really couldn’t turn back.  It was a turning point in my reading life.

5) Alias Grace – It was shortly after reading The Robber Bride that I read this book and was just mesmerized by Atwood’s storytelling.  I suppose it didn’t hurt that it had a historical element and made me further intrigued about the story of Grace Marks.

6)  The Root Cellar – This book has stayed with me for a long time, even though I haven’t read it in quite sometime.  Just the notion of going back in time is romantic enough, but the fact that it goes to a period in which so much has been written about in American history intrigued me even more.  I guess it started a love affair with the American Civil War that really hasn’t abated and only seems to continue.

7) A Handful of Time – As with The Root Cellar, it got me at a time when I was just coming out of reading books, such as The Babysitters Club, and even now as an adult reader, I found the book just as interesting as when I first read it as a tween.  Loved the notion of going back to a different time, but this time to learn more about a mom the main character barely knew.

8) A Tale of Two Cities – While my grade 11 English classmates were rolling their eyes while reading this book, I was really enjoying it.  I am so glad that my english teacher put this on the reading list.

9) Jacob Have I loved – Read  this in grade 7 when I was looking for something to read in a brand-new school library and I wasn’t disappointed.  Had the books I was looking for been available, I would have read that one instead, but because the school librarian had put the book in the collection, I was able to turn from the books that I was comfortable with to books that I would be challenged with.

10) All Quiet on the Western Front – I first read this book in my grade 12 English class and really didn’t see the point of the book, but my first History class that I took at the university level had this in the syllabus and I groaned at the thought.  But once I was able to understand the historical context of the book, I enjoyed the book and respect the message that Remarque is trying to get across.

I apologize if I did the meme wrong; its my first one.  Have a good day 🙂

10 Comments

Filed under top ten tuesday

10 responses to “>Top Ten Tuesday – Books Recommended

  1. >I like your picks a lot, robber bride was great! Jane Eyre was one of my picks as well. Still haven't read A Tale of Two Cities.. *hangs head in shame*

  2. >I've heard of most on your list, but haven't read a lot of them. I will say though, that I really struggled with Jacob Have I Loved because her sister was just SO D**N SELFISH! And she just didn't GET it. Sigh. It's a mark of truly great writing, when it evokes such strong emotional responses.

  3. >I don't think there is any way to do the meme wrong (unless it is by not participating!) Welcome. Come back next week. It's fun.Here's my gratitude list: Top Ten Books I'm Happy Were Recommended to Me. I hope you will stop by!

  4. >Great list! I have East of Eden on my list as well, it is one of my favorite books.

  5. >stopping by to read your Top Ten. Pride and Prejudice, not many have not read that one except me i guess.

  6. >Great list and welcome to the meme, it's pretty awesome isn't it? 🙂

  7. >Jacob Have I Loved is a good one. Pride and Prejudice is one of my all-time favs. I want to read Jane Eyre and Tale of Two Cities. There are just too many good books out there to read and not enough time!

  8. >A Tale of Two Cities was 12th grade for me–summer reading–but I had the same experience. I'm glad I'm not the only one :)Good list!

  9. >East of Eden is one of my all time favorite books. Great list!

  10. LBC

    >East of Eden is a good one. I was trying to think of books my husband recommended, and that is definitely one. It should be on my list.Check out my list here

Leave a Reply

